Your No.1 Betting & Poker Community 

St Leger Betting Guide

The St Leger is the last of the 5 classics and is a Grade 1 race run over 1m6f towards the end of the season in September at Doncaster Racecourse. It is open to 3 year old thoroughbred colts and fillies. The race has lost some of its status in the last decade or so as many of the best horses opt to go for the Arc De Triomphe rather than this race as that one often adds more value to a horse likely to retire to stud that season.

Saeed Bin Suroor has often targeted this race and has had 5 winners since 1995, the last of these being Mastery in 2009. Aidan O’Brien has also done well in this race in the last decade or so with winners in 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2013. John Gosden won the 2010 and 2011 renewals with Arctic Cosmos and Masked Marvel respectively and also took the 2007 affair with Lucarno. As for jockeys, look no further than Frankie Dettori – he won the race 3 times in 4 years (2005, 2006, 2008) and also won the race in 1995 and 1996.

St Leger Previous Winners

Year      Horse                          Jockey                         Trainer

2014     Kingston Hill             Andrea Atzeni           Roger Varian

2013    Leading Light           Joseph O'Brien           Aiden O'Brien

2012    Encke                        Mickael Barzalona       M Al Zarooni   

2011    Masked Marvel          William Buick             John Gosden

2010    Arctic Cosmos          William Buick             John Gosden

2009    Mastery                       Ted Durcan                 Saeed Bin Suroor

2008    Conduit                       Frankie Dettori            Sir Michael Stoute

2007    Lucarno                       Jimmy Fortune            John Gosden

2006    Sixties Icon                 Frankie Dettori            Jeremy Noseda

2005    Scorpion                      Frankie Dettori            Aidan O’Brien

2004    Rule Of Law               Kerrin McEvoy           Saeed Bin Suroor

2003    Brian Boru                  Jamie Spencer             Aidan O’Brien

2002    Bollin Eric                   Kevin Darley               Tim Easterby

2001    Milan                           Mick Kinane               Aidan O’Brien

St Leger Trends

12/12 winners finished in the first 3 last time out

11/12 winners had won a group race

9/12 winners had won over 1m3f-1m4f

10/12 winners had run 4 or 5 times that season

11/12 winners had raced in the last 60 days

8/12 winners came from the first 2 in the betting


Register at Paddy Power




Latest News

All Latest News supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.