Your No.1 Betting & Poker Community 

Dante Stakes Betting Guide

Dante Festival (May 15th-17th 2013)

This 3 day meeting takes place at York in the middle of May and each day has a feature race. The 2013 meeting takes place between the 15th and 17th May.

On the Wednesday we will see the top class fillies take part in the Grade 3 Musidora Stakes over 1m2f. This race is often seen as an Oaks trial and Sariska won this before going on to win the Oaks in 2009.

Thursday's feature race is the Dante Stakes and is a Grade 2 over the same distance of 1m2f. The 2010 runner up Workforce went on to win the Derby and this is often a key Derby trial, although Workforce was the first horse in history to go on and win the Derby after being beaten in the Dante. Authorized won this race and the Derby in 2007 and North Light also completed the Dante/Derby double in 2004. Surprises are rare in this race but the 2013 renewal provided a surprise winner in Libertarian, a 33/1 shot trained by Elaine Burke, the wife of Karle Burke.

Fridays feature race is the Emirates Airline Yorkshire Cup, a Group 2 race over 1m6f for the best stayers.

Previous Dante Stakes Winners

Year    Horse                           Jockey                         Trainer

2014    The Grey Gatsby        Ryan Moore              Kevin Ryan

2013    Libertarian                  William Buick            Mrs K Burke

2012    Bonfire                        Jimmy Fortune           Andrew Balding

2011    Carlton House             Ryan Moore               Sir Michael Stoute

2010    Cape Blanco                Johnny Murtagh          Aidan O’Brien

2009    Black Bear Island       Colm O’Donoghue       Aidan O’Brien

2008    Tartan Bearer              Ryan Moore                Sir Michael Stoute

2007    Authorized                  Frankie Dettori            Peter Chapple-Hyam

2006    Septimus                     Kieren Fallon              Aidan O’Brien

2005    Motivator                    Johnny Murtagh          Michael Bell

2004    North Light                 Kieren Fallon              Sir Michael Stoute

2003    Magistretti                   Kevin Darley               Neville Callaghan

2002    Moon Ballad               Jamie Spencer             Saeed Bin Suroor

2001    Dilshaan                      Kieren Fallon              Sir Michael Stoute

The stats above show the leading trainers take this race seriously and often send their best horses, with both Stoute and O’Brien having a fine record over the last 10 years, each winning the race 3 times. Kieren Fallon has also won the race 3 times but was stable jockey for a big yard each time. Horse racing fans will be hoping to catch a glimpse of Frankel if it takes in this race and heads for Epsom this year.

Dante Stakes Trends (up to 2011)

7/11 won last time out

11/11 had won a race

10/11 had won over 1m+

6/11 had run that season

7/11 had won at listed or group level.


Check back as the Dante Meeting draws near to read our expert selections.

Register at Paddy Power




Latest News

All Latest News supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.