Stayers Hurdle Odds

Stayers Hurdle Info

This race is the main staying hurdles race of the festival. It is run over 3m and is a Grade 1 event. It is open to horses aged 4 or above and has provided us with some very classy winners over the years, including Baracouda, Inglis Drever and My Way De Solzen. Big Buck's made it 4 World Hurdles (previous race name) in a row after taking the 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 events in fine style. Inglis Drever managed three World Hurdles, but not in a row, winning in 2005, 2007 and 2008.

Stayers HurdleTips

Stayers Hurdle Latest Betting

The sheer dominance of Big Buck's means the horse is now regarded as the best staying hurdler in the history of horse racing, however his absence in the 2013 renewal opened the door to other staying hurdlers, namely Solwhit who was the one to take full advantage.

Big Bucks was retired in 2014 and that left the way clear for some young blood and the 6yo's More Of That and Cole Harden were successful in 2014 & 2015. In 2016 we saw the arrival of a new superstar in the shape of Thistlecrack who bolted up for trainer Colin Tizzard. From 2017 the race will revert back toit's old name of the 'Stayers Hurdle'.

Stayers Hurdle Winning Trends

Stayers Hurdle Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer SP
2017 Nichols Canyon 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 10/1
2016 Thistlecrack 8 Tom Scudamore Colin Tizzard Evs
2015 Cole Harden 6 Gavin Sheehan Warren Greatrex 14/1
2014 More Of That 6 Barry Geraghty Jonjo O'Neill 15/2
2013 Solwhit 9 Paul Carberry Charles Byrnes 17/2
2012 Big Buck's 9 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 5/6
2011 Big Buck's 8 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 10/11
2010 Big Buck's 7 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 5/6
2009 Big Buck's 6 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 6/1
2008 Inglis Drever 9 Denis O'Regan Howard Johnson 11/8

  • Bookie Offers
  • Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!
    Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!