Cross Country Chase Odds

Cross Country ChaseInfo

After the dust has settled from the Champion Chase, the paces eases somewhat as we go on to the Cross Country Chase. These races was introduced in 2005 so is still relatively new and love it or hate it, it does bring something different to the day’s events.

Cross Country Chase Tips

Cross Country ChaseLatest Betting

Getting the latest odds...
The almost unique nature of this race makes the form of the runners very hard to weigh up as nothing compares to this test, and it’s not surprising that you tend to get the same horses lining up and taking each other on time and time again. Enda Bolger is a trainer who has grasped this concept totally, he has trained four of the eight previous winners and also had a few placed horses. He trains for the owner JP McManus who has always supported these types of races whether here at Cheltenham or at Punchestown where they also take place.

Irish trained horses had won all six running’s prior to the 2012 race and although the home brigade was sparsely represented, Philip Hobbs disrupted the Irish dominance by saddling Balthazar King to victory,they repeated the fete in 2014.

The 2013 renewal was moved to the final race on the Thursday due to unsuitable ground on the opening day but it was the Peter Maher trained Big Shu that continued the Irish dominance when heran out a 4 length winner. In 2015 Tony Martin landed his first winner of the race when Rivage D'Or won at 16/1.

*In 2016 the race wasrun as a Conditions event for the first time, all horsesnow carry the same weight. Any Currency won the race in 2016 but was later disqualified after a banned substance was found in his urine sample. Josie's Orders was awarded the race.

Cross Country Chase 10 Years Trends

*2005-2015 Run as a handicap

Cross Country ChasePrevious Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer SP
2017 Cause Of Causes 9 Jamie Codd Gordon Elliott 4/1
2016 Josies Orders 8 MissNina Carberry Enda Bolger 15/8
2015 Rivage d'Or 10 Davy Russell Tony Martin 16/1
2014 Balthazar King 10 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs 4/1
2013 Big Shu 8 Barry Cash Peter Maher 14/1
2012 Balthazar King 8 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs 11/2
2011 Sizing Australia 9 Andrew Lynch Henry De Bromhead 13/2
2010 A New Story 12 Adrian Heskin Michael Hourigan 25/1
2009 Garde Champetre 10 MissNina Carberry Enda Bolger 7/2
2008 Garde Champetre 9 MissNina Carberry Enda Bolger 4/1

  • Bookie Offers
  • Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!
    Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!