Coral Cup Odds

Coral Cup Info

The Coral Cup is run on the second day of the festival and is usually a big handicap for the punters to get their teeth into. It has to be said the bookmakers look forward to this race too as over the years some big priced horses have won it and in fact only one favourite has prevailed in 16 years, that being a real old fashioned gamble landed by the legendary Irish trainer Tony Martin.

Coral Cup Tips

Coral Cup Latest Betting

The race usually attracts a maximum field with the classier types that will shoulder big weights down to those that sneak in the bottom of the handicap. Over the years it has been difficult for any horse carrying over 11 stone to win as there always seem to be one or two lower down that have been laid out for the race and either have been protecting their handicap marks or are an improving horse that hasn’t shown its full potential yet.

The Irish trained horses have had their share of good luck over the years winning seven times since 1995, but since the handicapping system changed it’s claimed that the Irish horses are at a disadvantage nowadays, but it won’t stop them having a tilt in the ring come March, and it didn't stop Carlito Brigante taking the 2011 race for Gordon Elliott and the same trainer won it again in 2016 with Diamond King.

Alan King's Medinas, carrying a whopping 11st 10lb bucked a few trends in winning the 2013 race and was promptly followed by Whisper also winning off top weight the following year.

Coral Cup Last 10 YearsTrends

Coral Cup Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Weight Jockey Trainer SP
2017 Supasundae 7 11-04 Robbie Power Jessica Harrington 16/1
2016 Diamond King 8 11-03 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 12/1
2015 Aux Ptits Soins 5 10-07 Sam Twiston-Davies Paul Nicholls 9/1
2014 Whisper 6 11-06 Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson 14/1
2013 Medinas 6 11-10 Wayne Hutchinson Alan King 33/1
2012 Son Of Flicka 8 10-06 Jason Maguire Donald McCain 16/1
2011 Carlito Brigante 5 10-12 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 16/1
2010 Spirit River 5 11-02 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson 14/1
2009 Ninetieth Minute 6 10-03 Paddy Flood Tom Taaffe 14/1
2008 Naiad du Misselot 7 10-13 Davy Russell Ferdy Murphy 7/1

  • Bookie Offers
  • Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!
    Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!