Champion Bumper Odds

Champion Bumper Info

The last race on Wednesday’s card is traditionally the Champion Bumper race, it’s a race that was added to the festival back in 1992 and is for horses who haven’t ran under rules on the flat or over hurdles, and has proved very popular addition to the festival. The contest was the only flat race at the festival until a new event was introduced this year which will be run on Thursday for the first time over a shorter trip.

Champion Bumper Tips

Champion Bumper Latest Betting

Not surprisingly the Irish have done very well in this race, many of the English top horses are bred in Ireland anyway and it’s only fair that they keep some for themselves.

Trainer Willie Mullins has easily the best record in the racewith Champagne Fever earning the Irishman a fantastic seventh win in the 2012 race and Briar Hill weighed in at a chunky 25/1 to gift Mullins with victory number 8 in 2013. The Irish won it again in 2014 with another outsider, this time trained by Dermot Weld.

In 2015 David Pipe won his first Champion Bumper when Moon Racer obliged after being well backed into 9/2 favourite and another well fancied youngster in Ballyandy obliged for trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies in 2016.

Champion Bumper 10 YearTrends

Champion Bumper Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer SP
2017 Fayonagh 6 Jamie Codd Gordon Elliott 7/1
2016 Ballyandy 5 Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies 5/1
2015 Moon Racer 6 Tom Scudamore David Pipe 9/2 f
2014 Silver Concorde 6 MrRobbie McNamara Dermot Weld 16/1
2013 Briar Hill 5 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 25/1
2012 Champagne Fever 5 MrPatrick Mullins Willie Mullins 16/1
2011 Cheltenian 5 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs 14/1
2010 Cue Card 4 Joe Tizzard Colin Tizzard 40/1
2009 Dunguib 6 MrBrian O'Connell Philip Fenton 9/2
2008 Cousin Vinny 5 MrPatrick Mullins Willie Mullins 12/1

  • Bookie Offers
  • Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!
    Bet £5 Get £10 Free Bet x 2! Limited Time Offer!