Your No.1 Betting & Poker Community 

Capital One Cup Betting Guide

The Capital One Cup, formerly known as the Carling Cup is the second biggest cup competition in England. All teams in the Premier League and Football League are invited to take part in the competition. This cup differs to the other cup competition, the FA Cup, in that all matches up to the final are in midweek and up to the semi finals are just one leg with extra time and penalties played if the game is a draw after 90 minutes. Also unlike the FA Cup, the Capital One Cup semi finals are played over 2 legs.

Last change:


Chelsea 6.50
Man City 6.50
Arsenal 7.00
Man Utd 7.50
Liverpool 8.00
Tottenham 10.00
Southampton 15.00
Everton 17.00
West Ham 21.00
Stoke 26.00
Swansea 26.00
Aston Villa 34.00
West Brom 34.00
Crystal Palace 34.00
Bournemouth 41.00
Leicester 41.00
Newcastle 41.00
Sunderland 51.00
Hull 51.00
Middlesbrough 67.00
Norwich 67.00
Watford 67.00
Derby 81.00
Burnley 81.00
QPR 81.00
Sheffield Wednesday 101
Cardiff 101
Fulham 151
Bolton 151
Reading 151
Bristol City 151
Brighton 151
Brentford 151
Nottingham Forest 151
Wolverhampton Wanderers 151
Blackburn 151
Birmingham 201
Charlton 201
Huddersfield 201
Sheffield Utd 251
Milton Keynes 251
Preston 251
Rotherham 251
Wigan 501
Millwall 501
Peterborough 751
Bradford 751
Rochdale 751
Swindon 751
Chesterfield 751
Doncaster 1001
Barnsley 1001
Fleetwood Town 1001
Blackpool 1001
Leyton Orient 1501
Notts 1501
Burton 1501
Shrewsbury 1501
Southend 1501
Crewe 1501
Scunthorpe 1501
Gillingham 1501
Walsall 1501
Coventry 1501
Oldham 1501
Port Vale 1501
Wycombe 2001
Bury 2001
Portsmouth 2001
Crawley 2001
Yeovil 2001
Colchester 2001
Luton 2501
Plymouth 2501
Stevenage 2501
Wimbledon 3001
Carlsile 3001
York 3001
Morecambe 3001
Exeter 3001
Newport 3001
Barnet 3001
Northampton 3001
Accrington 5001
Cambridge Utd 5001
Oxford Utd 5001
Mansfield 5001
Hartlepool 5001
Dagenham & Redbridge 5001

The competition begins in August with just the Football League sides entering in the first round. The winners go into a seeded second round where the Premier League teams who aren’t involved in European competition enter. The teams who are in European competition enter in the 3rd round of the competition which holds its final on the last weekend in February at Wembley Stadium.

Capital One Cup Previous Winners:

2002 – Blackburn Rovers

2003 – Liverpool

2004 – Middlesbrough

2005 – Chelsea

2006 – Manchester United

2007 – Chelsea

2008 – Tottenham Hotspur

2009 – Manchester United

2010 – Manchester United

2011 - Birmingham City

2012 - Liverpool

2013 - Swansea

Capital One Cup Betting

Carling Cup betting can be tricky because the big clubs are known to rest a lot of their main players so team news is even more vital than normal in this competition. That does mean that some tasty prices can be found once the required team news has been obtained. The normal football match betting is offered on this market and 2-3 ties per round are televised.

Outright betting can often be profitable in this competition because the tournament often throws up surprise finalists. Not all the finalists have been from the Premier League either with sides from the Championship having made the final since the turn of the century. Some lower sides target this competition as a real chance of silverware with the big clubs not focusing on it so much and that can lead to juicy payouts for punters on the outright market. The 2012 final being a good example with Championship side Cardiff City facing Liverpool at Wembley where Liverpool went on to lift the trophy. Incredibly, Bradford reached the 2013 final to face Swansea, but it was the Premier League outfit that lifted the cup with a 5-0 thrashing of the record breaking League Two side.

Register at BetVictor




Latest News

All Latest News supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.