Your No.1 Betting & Poker Community 

British Open Golf Betting Guide

The British Open or The Open Championship as it is also often referred to is the penultimate major in the golfing calendar and is played every July. It’s the only major championship outside the USA and rotates its host year after year. Every 5 years, St Andrews, the home of golf, hosts the tournament. St Andrews was the venue for the 2010 tournament which was won by a landslide margin by Louis Oosthuizen from South Africa who led from start to finish. The coveted prize for winning this tournament is the famous Claret Jug.

The Open is a unique tournament in that it’s played on links courses which by nature are by the sea with winds and tides affecting the nature of the golf course. This tournament was first played in 1860 at Prestwick in South Ayrshire, Scotland..

As with the US Open, the open field allows for many more golf betting opportunities and many other markets to be offered. Once again there will be the top country and continent players and there will also be first round leader markets as well as match betting. In the UK it’s seen as the biggest tournament of the year so more markets are offered on this tournament than any other.

The BBC cover the tournament extensively in the UK and that is partly what makes the tournament so big in England and the rest of the UK. The 2011 event at Royal St George's in Kent will be fondly remembered due to the hugely popular Northern Irishman Darren Clarke claiming his first Claret Jug. Sadly Clarke failed to make the cut in 2012, when on a dramatic final day Ernie Els was the major beneficiary when leader, Australian Adam Scott, bogeyed the last 4 holes.  

The 2013 Open Championship headed to Muirfield in Scotland where American left-hander Phil Mickleson claimed his first British Open win. Mickleson was 5 shots behind during the final round but in his own words enjoyed probably the best round of his career to triumph by a comfortable 3 shots.

Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Hoylake, Merseyside is the host for the 2014 event.


Past Open Championship Winners


Host Club
Winning Score
Phil Mickelson
-3 (281)
Ernie Els
Royal Lytham And St Annes
-7 (273)
Darren Clarke
Royal St George's
-5 (275)
Louis Oosthuizen
St Andrews
-16 (272)
Stewart Cink
-2 (278) after play-off
Padraig Harrington
Royal Birkdale
+3 (283)
Padraig Harrington
-7 (277) after play-off
Tiger Woods
Royal Liverpool
-18 (270)
Tiger Woods
St Andrews
-14 (274)
Todd Hamilton
Royal Troon
-10 (274) after play-off
Ben Curtis
Royal St George's
-1 (283)


Register at Ladbrokes




Latest News

All Latest News supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.