Your No.1 Betting & Poker Community 

BDO World Championship Betting Guide

The BDO World Championship is the lesser of the two World Championships in darts at present. The tournament takes place in January at the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green, Surrey. This tournament has been going since it was first held in 1978. It was the only World Championship until the PDC broke away and formed their own tournament in 1994. Leighton Rees won the first BDO championship in 1978 and stars from across the world have won it since.

The top 16 in the BDO rankings automatically qualify for this event and then the field is made up from 16 qualifiers from performance in certain tournaments as well as the qualifying event. Players come from every corner of the globe to compete in the tournament which has an illustrious roll of honour with Eric Bristow, Raymond Barneveld, Phil Taylor and John Lowe having all won this championship. The tournament is played over sets play and is a straight knockout competition.

Previous winners of the BDO World Championship

2002 – Tony David

2003 – Raymond Barneveld

2004 – Andy Fordham

2005 – Raymond Barneveld

2006 – Jelle Klaasen

2007 – Martin Adams

2008 – Mark Webster

2009 – Ted Hankey

2010 – Martin Adams

2011 – Martin Adams

2012 – Christian Kist


BDO World Championship Betting

This tournament isn’t as popular for betting as the PDC equivalent. A lot of the reason for that is the standard is a lot lower but you can often get some good prices on the match betting and on handicaps on the occasions a mismatch looks like occurring. There’s also the general correct score, total sets, total 180’s and highest checkout bets which are normal darts match betting markets. The outright market can be a good one to get involved in with the likes of Tony David and Jelle Klaasen winners at a 3 figure prize in the recent past. Aside from the outright winner market, each quarter of the draw is priced up so you can bet on who you think will win a particular quarter which means you only need someone to make the semi finals to have a winner.

Register at Bet365




Latest News

All Latest News supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.